## 13.—Lieutenant-Governors of Prince Edward Island, 1873-1948, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-48, and Present Ministry as at June 30, 1948—concluded

## Legislatures, 1934-481

Date of Election	Legislature	Number of Sessions	Date of First Opening	Date of Dissolution
July 23, 1935 May 18, 1939 Sept. 15, 1943 Dec. 11, 1947	18th General Assembly 19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly	4	Sept. 25, 1935	Aug. 20, 1943 Oct. 27, 1947

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Ministries from 1934-48 were: 19th Ministry, sworn in Oct. 14, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. W. J. P. MacMillan, M.D., C.M.; 20th Ministry, sworn in Aug. 15, 1935, under the leadership of Hon. W. M. Lea; 21st Ministry, sworn in Jan. 14, 1936, under the leadership of Hon. T. A. Campbell, K.C.; 22nd Ministry, sworn in May 11, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. J. Walter Jones.

<sup>2</sup> Life of Legislature not yet expired.

## Twenty-Third Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election, Dec. 11, 1947: 24 Liberals and 6 Progressive Conservatives.)

Norz.—Ministers who have held office continuously are shown as at the date of original appointment, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of Appointment	
President of the Executive Council, Premier, Minister of Education, and Provincial Secretary-Treasurer.  Attorney and Advocate General.  Minister of Public Works and Highways.  Minister of Agriculture.  Minister of Health and Welfare.  Minister without portfolio.  Minister without portfolio.  Minister without portfolio.  Minister without portfolio.	Hon. J. Walter Jones.  Hon. Frederic Alfred Large, K.C  Hon. George H. Barbour.  Hon. W. F. Alan Stewart.  Hon. Alexander W. Matheson, K.C  Hon. Horace Wright.  Hon. John A. Campbell.  Hon. J. Wilfrid Arsenault.  Hon. Harry Cox.	May 11, 1 May 8, 1 May 11, 1 May 8, 1 Mar. 12, 1 Sept. 14, 1 Aug. 15, 1 Feb. 12, 1 Apr. 12, 1	1944 1943 1944 1948 1939 1935

## Subsection 2.—Nova Scotia

The Province of Nova Scotia has a House of Assembly consisting of 30 members which was increased by legislation in 1948 to 37 members effective at the next General Election. The members of the Assembly are elected for five years, the maximum duration of its existence. The Ministry or Cabinet, styled the Executive Council, consists of the Premier and Provincial Treasurer; the Attorney General who is also Minister of Labour; the Minister of Public Health who is also Minister of Public Welfare, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Registrar General; the Minister of Mines who is also Provincial Secretary; the Minister of Highways and Public Works; the Minister of Agriculture and Marketing who is also Minister of Lands and Forests; the Minister of Trade and Industry, and two Ministers without portfolio one of whom is in charge of the administration of the Nova Scotia Liquor Control Act.